Guitar and Piano Grade Exams Qualifications

Students can take Guitar and Piano Grade Exams, and can be awarded a pass, a pass with merit, or a pass with distinction.

Providers of exams include the Associated Board of the Royal Schools of Music and Trinity College London and London College of Music

Grade Exams are accredited by the Office of Qualifications and Examinations, and are in the UK’s National Qualifications Framework.

Grades 1, 2 and 3 are at RQF Level 1 (the same as GCSE grades D-G)

Grades 4 and 5 are at RQF Level 2 (the same as GCSE grades A*-C)

Grades 6, 7 and 8 are at RQF Level 3 (the same as A level)

Grade Exams also give students points under the UCAS Tariff. UCAS – the Universities and Colleges Admissions Service – manages applications for undergraduate courses at Universities and Colleges in the UK. These points are used to measure achievement for entry into Higher Education.

Students can claim UCAS points for instrumental exams and music theory exams:
Guitar or Piano
Grade 6 pass 6, merit 10, distinction 12 points
Grade 7 pass 10, merit 12, distinction 16 points
Grade 8 pass 18, merit 24, distinction 30 points
Music Theory
Grade 6 pass 4, merit 5, distinction 6 points
Grade 7 pass 6, merit 7, distinction 8 points
Grade 8 pass 8, merit 9, distinction 10 points

A levels grades score 16 - 56 points.

If you would like to study and gain these music qualifications then ask for more details.

Back to homepage

Copyright 2018 Cambridge Guitar and Piano Courses